James.Cridland.net

James Cridland's blog

Where radio and new platforms collide. With beer.

« An idea for better email unsubscribing | Blog index | To the London Transport Museum and a Flickr meet »

Chronopay sell your details to spammers

Posted on Saturday, February 16th, 2008 at 9:05pm. #

Chronopay are spammers

On June 4th, 2006, I bought something using Chronopay, a payment company based in the Netherlands. I used a unique email address to sign up. Above is a list of all emails sent to the unique email address that only Chronopay has for me.

This is concerning for a number of reasons:
1. It’s against EU law.
2. Has my email address been sold? Or stolen?
3. Have the details of my credit card been sold? Or stolen?

Given the evidence, I would strongly advise never to deal with any company that uses Chronopay. They’re clearly either scumbags of the highest order, or (in spite of what it says on their website), they’re not hacker-proof. Either way, I’m glad that I change credit cards every two years.

(In case you’re wondering how I signed up: Gmail gives you unlimited unique email addresses. If you’re johndoe@gmail.com, then johndoe+spammers@gmail.com also gets to you. The same’s true for Google Apps accounts. Because of some incompatibilities with badly-written code, I actually rewrite a similar-looking email address on my mailserver.)

3 comments

Joff Hopkins said at February 16th, 2008 at 11:23pm

I have had exactly the same issues with Wippit.com (the online music download site) and the IT retailer Aria.

In the case of a phishing email sent to my unique Aria address, I traced it all back and found a bulk emailing page hosted on the same server, along with a text file containing several thousand email addresses - many in the form of aria @ domain.dom.

I contacted Aria, as I was slightly concerned about this - but they simply didn’t want to know.

(I haven’t used them since.)

Jack said at February 17th, 2008 at 8:58pm

I use Chronopay a lot (it’s the payment provider for mp3sugar.com) and have got loads of spam since I started using it (since allofmp3.com RIP shut down). Perhaps this is retribution for using Russian mp3 sites?

matt said at February 24th, 2008 at 3:52pm

Yup. I get constant spam to an email address that was only used at chronopay.

Leave a comment

This website's Gravatar enabled (that's the pictures on the right)

To prove you're human, type the two words below into the box provided.