James.Cridland.net

James Cridland's blog

Where radio and new platforms collide. With beer.

« Hello Google Talk and Jabber types | Blog index | er-SOOS - fun with an Asus Eee PC »

A new kind of scam

Posted on Monday, February 4th, 2008 at 10:33am. #

Aviva Li writes to my mediauk.com address from the other side of the world - indeed, from something calling itself “Asia Domain Name Registration Ltd”. He writes with some concerning news.

There’s a company called “Viva International Holdings Ltd” who’ve just applied with them to register a ton of domain-names with ‘mediauk’ in them - like mediauk.net.cn or mediauk.com.hk, etc. He helpfully lists about ten.

“After an initial examination we have found that the keyword and domain names applied for are the same as your company’s name and trademark. … If you want to protect your domains, we will send you a dispute application form”.

I’m used to scams online, but this one had me suckered for a few minutes. How dare Viva be trying to steal my name? What are they trying to do? Of course I’d like to stop them! Thank you, the unlikely-named Aviva, for your kind diligence in… oh, hang on a minute.

First: “After an initial examination we have found that the keyword and domain names applied for are the same as your company’s name and trademark” looks all very well, until you consider that Media UK isn’t a company - it’s wholly owned by Not At All Bad Ltd. And “Media UK” is not a trademark either, being a rather too generic name to trademark successfully. And this extra word ‘keyword’ which has popped in here looks scary - you need keywords for search engines, right? - except you don’t register keywords.

So… why has Aviva bothered to tell me this?

“If you want to protect your domains, we will send you a dispute application form”. Neat wording. They’re not MY domain-names, yet Aviva has now made me think they are. And now all I need to do is ask for a form to - wait a second - register these domains. Clever!

Additionally, one might ask why Viva (curiously, a name with the dubious honour of two failed UK radio stations being called it) would want to register “Media UK” in China. After all, the only reason I registered that is because media.co.uk was taken.

So, if you wanted, you could rewrite this email as:

Dear CEO,
We’ve made up a story you’ll never be able to check to scare you into buying some domain-names you don’t need at a vastly-inflated price. Send us your money.
Lots of love,
Aviva
PS: I’m named after a large European insurance company, and I also sound a little like a big bus company too.

Photo: Chris Bersbach. Used under licence

12 comments

tony start said at February 18th, 2008 at 8:52am

We had this same email as well. Why would anyone want to register “bluewaterforklift” in China. So we were about to respond when we saw this blog. Thanks for your view on it, we agree, nice to see a second opinion. I wonder how many emails they sent out. Clever.
Tony

Ron Hettwer said at February 18th, 2008 at 7:48pm

We also got the e-mail yesterday. Thanks for alerting us as we were about to respond to them. Does anyone know how this might be stopped? Isn’t googlo great!! Ron

amy liu said at February 19th, 2008 at 5:17am

We also got one today. Thanks for the above sharing.

Byron Collett said at February 21st, 2008 at 12:32am

Got the e-mail yesterday…thanks for alerting us!

Patricia said at February 22nd, 2008 at 2:49am

I also received this e-mail today. I too worried that someone wanted to register my name, than 2 seconds later, being suspicious as I am of unknown e-mails, decided to google their name. Thank you for posting this. How DO we report them?

another victim from the US said at February 22nd, 2008 at 4:40pm

My company got the same email, although from someone named paker.lin at Star East Technology. Everything else was the same. Same alledged “squatter” Viva International Holdings. Thanks for blogging this, I almost fell for it also, as we had been victimized earlier this year by someone who was infringing on our trademark with a similarly worded domain registration. But something about this email was odd enough to cause me to do some searching. Glad I find your posting.

MINDY said at February 22nd, 2008 at 6:11pm

We also rec’d several emails from this “company” over the last few days with the same “threats” that everyone else is getting. I must admit that we were upset in the beginning. We also got about 300 hits on our site over a few days from the same person. We did email them back and told them the same thing I told the guys who were from “THE EMBASSY IN AFRICA” and I could gain millions of dollars if I helped them….I said (after months & months of deleteing the emails) “if you email me again I will turn you into to Dateline NBC…it all stopped!!! Mindy

Warning of Domain Name Scams! « Artistsvalley Designs said at March 10th, 2008 at 12:43pm

[...] a few. Thanks to blogging though… all it takes is 5 minutes of Google-ing to know that such scams can never last.  Just when I started to think that the world had enough of the [...]

Domain Name Scam - StarEast « Online Scams and Threats said at May 31st, 2008 at 9:58am

[...] You can see a huge list of domain name scammers here! But this list of organized scams is getting shorter by the day. Thanks to blogs… all it takes is 5 minutes of Google-ing to know that such scams will never last.  [...]

Beware the domain-name hucksters - blog - James Cridland said at June 16th, 2008 at 8:35pm

[...] a seller of small articles, usually of cheap or shoddy quality - the latest in a series about the domain-name [...]

Craig Mason said at July 18th, 2008 at 7:33am

Unfortunately, a client of mine was recently hit by the same scam, although via telephone conversation. The company in question (iserveuk.net) suggested that he registered 10 domains for 10 years… at £10 a pop.

£1000 later, I discovered that the domains have been registered for the minimum period of time. The victim was so angry that he drove to the ‘registered address’ of iServeUK… only to find that the address didn’t exist.

Keep an eye on http://www.domainscams.co.uk/ for recent updates.

Terlan said at July 30th, 2008 at 10:51am

A client just got this one yesterday and my blackberry was plagued with emails from him about it all day.
Theres been variants of this scam been going around for several years now. The problem with this one is it does have the air of being legitimate.

The bit that scares people, is the implied threat of the fictional company thats about to register a trademark on your domain, could at some point take your domain from you. And this scamm works.

A lot of businesses dont have on staff IT or web developers, and hire them on an ad hoc basis when needed, but still register all their own domains, after all how hard is it to set up a godaddy account and buy a domain or ten. And when the guy with the credit card gets this scam he doesnt have several years experience of spotting these and hits the reply button on his outlook.
And another scammer makes a buck. Sucks doesnt it.

Leave a comment

This website's Gravatar enabled (that's the pictures on the right)

To prove you're human, type the two words below into the box provided.